of office. The Yukon Territorial Council performs much the same functions as do the Provincial Governments. The Commissioner functions in lieu of the Provincial Cabinet and the three members of the Territorial Council function in lieu of the Provincial Legislature. The seat of local government is at Dawson, but the Commissioner acts under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Resources and Development at Ottawa.

COMMISSIONER (as at June 1, 1950)

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL (as at June 1, 1950)

(Three members elected 1949, for 3 years)

Dawson District	Charles J. Lelièvre
Whitehorse District	R. Gordon Lee
Mayo District	ERNEST J. CORP

Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, assisted by a Council composed of six members all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The administration of the various Acts, Ordinances and Regulations pertaining to the Northwest Territories is supervised by the Director of the Development Services Branch of the Department of Resources and Development, who is also Deputy Commissioner. seat of government is at Ottawa. As at June 1, 1950, the Government was:-

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL (as at June 1, 1950)

Commissioner...... Hugh L. Keenleyside

Deputy Commissioner..... Roy A. Gibson

Members of the Council..... Louis C. Audette, Harold B. Godwin, Donald M. MacKay John G. McNiven, Stuart T. Wood

Secretary..... James G. Wright

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

The earliest local government in Canada was carried out by the seigneurs of New France who, along with military command and the administration of justice, bore the responsibilities of appointing justices of the peace and clerks of roads. Some were soon replaced by a 'syndic' elected by the people, the first in 1644, though a mayor and two aldermen had briefly held office in the city of Quebec in 1643. However, the 'syndics' fell into disuse, and powers were delegated by the Governor to officials. The city of Quebec was incorporated in 1831, and a system of local government for the Province, decreed in 1840, was remodelled by Acts of 1845, 1847, 1850 and 1860.

Meanwhile, in the Atlantic Provinces, Saint John, N.B., had attained the distinction of becoming Canada's first incorporated city in 1784. Incorporation of Halifax, N.S., came in 1849 and Charlottetown, P.E.I., in 1855. In the Province of Newfoundland, St. John's was created a town in 1888. In Ontario, the Parish and Town Officers Act of 1793 provided for an annual meeting in a parish or township to appoint local officers but these were responsible to Parliament and the courts and the meetings had no law-making powers. Brockville, in 1832, gained some local powers from the Governor in Council which had previously been exercised through

^{*}Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.